Quick Links

Quick Links

Back to top

Garth Hill College

Pastoral Care and the House System

The College’s pastoral structure is organised as a house system.  Each of the four main ‘schools’ is home to one of the College’s four houses.

School of Human, Creative and Physical Studies and Home of Haversham House

School of Languages and Communications and Home of Lawrence House

School of Mathematics and Information Studies and Home of Fielden House

School of Science and Technology and Home of Brownlow House

Each house is made up of two or three tutor groups from each curriculum year.  The Head of House is assisted by an Assistant Head of House, House Mentor and a team of form tutors.

When a pupil joins the College in year 7, he or she will be allocated to a ‘house’ and to a form tutor.  The form tutor undertakes initial responsibility for day-to-day care and can support with any issues that may arise.  More serious matters are usually referred to the Head of Year, Head of Pupil care or Assistant Principal. Please use the link below to view more about the Year 7 provision.

Year 7 Pastoral Support